Google Reviews

Here are some of our visitors who had their haircut by our students at Thomas Lloyd Barbering Academy.

google-reviews-page

Thomas Lloyd Barbering Academy IconThomas Lloyd Barbering Academy

109 Woodville Road, Cardiff

4.9 121 reviews

  • Avatar Prashen Pillay ★★★★★ a week ago
    Probably the best haircut I've had in years. I've been coming here for a very long time. Always professional, never had a bad experience. Chris and Gary were great today.
  • Avatar Tomos Topps ★★★★★ 3 weeks ago
    Great service. Had my haircut by Ryan and I was very happy with the job he did. All the students had excellent support from the mentor and he was keeping a close eye on all of them. I'll definetely be going back and I would recommend … More this place to everyone.
  • Avatar Ronnie Quinn ★★★★★ 3 months ago
    I was a student at the academy in the summer and my course was amazing! I asked the academy to come and do one of their day training courses in my barbershop and it was AMAZING! Christian is super attentive, knowledgeable and gets involved … More in the shop 100%. I am so much more confident after my one to one beard training day & excited to get started on them! We covered different styles, face shapes and what’s on trend at the moment along with client consultation and beard products! I am so pleased with the training I had☺️ Thanks so much guys!
  • Avatar Michael Rowarth ★★★★★ a month ago
    Fantastic staff and the student who cut my hair was great, very friendly and precise. I was very pleased with my haircut, plus its free! I would highly recommend to anyone wanting an amazing haircut, but are more than a happy to wait just … More that little bit longer, as the students are training and still learning.
  • Avatar Jakub Smoliński ★★★★★ 3 weeks ago
    Very professional approach to the client. I was being trimmed by Guss…he knows what he’s doing. Would like to see more hairdressers like that
  • Avatar Al Davies ★★★★★ 3 months ago
    Fantastic, professional service that I can wholeheartedly recommend to anyone. Very happy with the haircut, the atmosphere is friendly and laid back.
    Thoroughly encourage anyone to head down! Especially since they offer the ability to
    … More book a FREE session with their students - absolutely too notch.
  • Avatar James Highway ★★★★★ 2 months ago
    Had the barbers recommended to me by Citizen Coffee. Was extremely impressed and satisfied with the haircut and staff. I’ve had many poor haircuts in the past but this certainly wasn’t one of them. The students are polite and will always … More make sure you love the haircut.
  • Avatar Sam Whitehouse ★★★★★ a month ago
    I had a great experience and cut. It took a little longer than a haircut elsewhere, but the barber takes their time, makes sure they get it right, and you end up with a better haircut than you could elsewhere.
  • Avatar Ollie ★★★★★ a month ago
    Jake was a good trainee, gave me a good trim.
    11/04/2022
    Quality service from great staff. I have visited twice now and could not recommend this place enough. Trainees are better than most barbers out there!
  • Avatar Samantha Owen ★★★★★ 4 months ago
    I completed my NVQ in Barbering with Thomas Lloyd Barbering Academy. From the start of the course both Christian & Lloyd were supportive and eager to help me learn the skills I needed to become a professional Barber. I wear hearing … More aids in both my ears however this wasn't a problem as Christian was able to present and support ways that allowed me to learn & put me at an even playing field with my peers. Not only were they amazing at supporting me to successfully achieve my qualification they also offered an amazing after care service when I opened my own Barber shop in West Wales. Christian came and spent the day providing in-house advice and guidance - he also supported a full day of hot towel shaving, where he shared valuable tips and support to help me continue to achieve in my business going forward. I can not recommend the academy enough & feel so grateful that I trained here with an amazing group of people and fantastic & hands-on tutors. Thanks guys 🙌
  • Avatar Neil Blundell ★★★★★ 6 months ago
    I have been coming to the Academy for the past two years. I have had my hair cut by numerous barbers in this time who are all expertly guided by the Chas and Dave of barbering, Lloyd and Christian. This dynamic duo provide a personable, … More unobtrusive service which allows their barbers the space to develop their skills and confidence. Alex, who cut my hair yesterday, was working on a building site in Swansea until recently, but always had aspirations of being a barber. In two weeks he will graduate from the academy and be a fully qualified barber. Top bloke who won't ever have to swing around a pole with a drill again, but will come armed with clippers, comb and cutting scissors.
  • Avatar satish .v ★★★★★ 3 months ago
    You will not be let down. This salon is most certainly the greatest place to get a free haircut in Cardiff. I've been going to this hairdresser for six months, Christine and Lloyd kept a tight eye on the trainers, who were kind and … More professional. I think you should give it a shot at least once.
  • Avatar ian jenkins ★★★★★ 3 months ago
    I’ve had several free haircuts now at the Academy and all have been excellent. The trainees have always been professional, polite and attentive. They are always closely monitored by their tutors, Lloyd and Christian, who are also very friendly. … More Highly recommended.
  • Avatar Oli ★★★★★ 3 months ago
    Was a bit sceptical about getting a haircut here at first, but just been today, trim is fantastic and the staff and students are all extremely friendly and professional. I also worry a lot getting my haircut because of skin problems, but … More they were all lovely about it and offered some great advice. Would definitely recommend!
  • Avatar Guy Jarrett ★★★★★ 6 months ago
    Had my hair & beard cut there last week and I was blown away with the attention to detail and the final result!
    They listened to what I wanted and took on board the photo I showed them & it looks spot on! Lloyd & Christian
    … More are amazing mentors you can tell, they put 100% into every free haircut their students offer.
    I have had many lovely comments on my beard especially since my visit, I will definitely be returning to help the students out! Thanks guys, awesome service!👍🏻
  • Avatar Paulon Ginn88 ★★★★★ 6 months ago
    Always enjoy my visits to Thomas Lloyd Barbering Academy. Students are either guided by Lloyd or Christian, both are very knowledgeable and have a great time in doing what they do. Students are very polite and welcoming, whilst priding … More themselves on their customer service and attention to detail on their haircuts.
    Because this is a Barbering Academy full disclosure don't expect your hair to finished in 15-20 minutes, the students will take their time making sure they do everything right, which on average from previous appointments have been roughly 90 minutes. So I would advise booking when you don't have anything on or just fancy a relaxing haircut.
    As a side note: If you are unable to make your appointment, please notify them that you are unable to attend. Even though it is a free haircut, Lloyd and Christian do their best to provide a great service to their customers and want to help their students succeed.
    Thanks to all the team!
    See you again soon,
    Paul
  • Avatar Adil Khatab ★★★★★ 6 months ago
    Have been getting my hair cut at this place for over a year now and have never been disappointed. The students are taught very well and the teachers are always there to help and finish off the haircut exactly how you want it. Everyone is … More really friendly and you are getting a similar experience as you would at a normal barbershop but for free.
  • Avatar Vivian Singh ★★★★★ 11 months ago
    I had my haircut earlier today by Keith, one of the current trainees. The cut , shampoo (and conditioner!) was done very professionally and in a non-rushed and careful fashion. He was diligently supervised by Lloyd who clearly has high … More standards. Great job by a great team. Highly recommended
  • Avatar Dean P ★★★★★ 11 months ago
    Awesome barbering. Students ready to cut and you're treated to a great cut / cut throat with a professional attitude. I booked in for both and pampered by Zak, with fresh new cut, and spot on cut throat. Zak made sure everything was … More spot on, and attention to detail, with an eyebrow trim as well. Cheers ????
  • Avatar munkit munkit ★★★★★ 9 months ago
    Nice experience getting a free haircut from a trainee, but she is really good. The service and environment are great!
  • Avatar Y Lenard Lim ★★★★★ 10 months ago
    Had a cut with Keith this morning, who is a trainee. He was very meticulous and did a great haircut. Loved the conversations as well! Definitely a good experience.
  • Avatar jon Richards ★★★★★ 10 months ago
    Received free haircut from trainee Keith this morning. Everything professionally done and Covid compliant. Will be showing off my new look for weeks.
  • Avatar Kieran Coates ★★★★★ a year ago
    Had my hair cut by Jay earlier today and he did an absolute amazing job. Such a polite and friendly guy with amazing customer service. Will make a cracking barber in the future and would definitely recommend using the academy for getting … More a hair cut
  • Avatar Joel Murphy ★★★★★ a year ago
    Had a lovely chat with Le(e/igh?) this morning and he did a great job of my fade haircut and fixing my lockdown haircuts. Will definitely visit again! Thanks guys
  • Avatar Oli Ford ★★★★★ 11 months ago
    Thanks Darragh!
    Had a brilliant experience and cut at Thomas Lloyd Barbering today!
    Great cut and great atmosphere. Absolute 5 star.
    My cut was done by Darragh who is in his 5th of his 9 week course here.
    He told me he was thoroughly
    … More enjoying it though you could tell that anyway. He was really friendly, interactive and I was really impressed with my haircut and how he looked after me. I showed him a photo of the sort of thing I wanted and my haircut actually now looks better than the photo I originally showed him!
    My hair was finished to a really high standard with lots of care and attention taken. There was the perfect balance between letting him get on with it but also the course leaders being readily on hand to advise/assist if needed.
    Highly recommend and thank you again!
  • Avatar Josh Lee ★★★★★ 11 months ago
    Had a great wet shave with the team, very professional, friendly and covid safe too.
  • Avatar POLADI KALYAN REDDY ★★★★★ a year ago
    I'm happy with the haircut they train the staff in an excellent way and happy to say that I got an experience in being patience towards work.
  • Avatar Jonathan Davis ★★★★★ a year ago
    What an amazing experience I’ve just had!! It was amazing and so friendly from the moment I walked in! Zara did an incredible job and it’s as good as any barber that I’ve been to! I would recommend to any gents wanting a cut and importantly … More giving the training barbers some experience and practice!!! ????????
  • Avatar Faqrie Hakim Yuhaznel ★★★★★ a year ago
    Astounding barber place. Professional, free and amazing haircut. The process is long as they are still trainee but the thought and effort they put in the haircut is totally worth it. Shout out to Sarah and Ryan, best haircut especially … More after COVID. Will definitely come back.